Twisting my French

Spring is in the air, and in my world that means weddings, proms and charity formals. I get so excited when a client tells me they are getting married or a young lady has been asked to the prom, it means my schedule will be filled with Up Dos, and that makes me very happy!

It wasn’t always this way, I spent many years moaning and groaning about any Up Style appointment on my schedule. All that changed when I watched the “how to” DVD by Martin Parsons “Night Out Collection”, twenty evening looks in 15minutes. That video changed my life. Mr Parsons is a wildly talented veteran of the beauty industry, fellow Canadian, long hair genius and a hero of mine. He makes it simple, and isn’t that what we all want?!

 

Now I look forward to sinking my fingers into any woman’s hair for her special day. In 30 years of hair designing I have been a part of many special days. It a privileged and a big responsibility, one I’ve worked hard to fine tune. Some brides have spent their whole lives planning for and dreaming about their wedding, while others are figuring it out as they go. So much time and energy goes into this one day, so it still amazes me how little some women think about the effect their hair has on their final look. I have had brides sit in my chair hours before their wedding, with no prior consult or dry run appointment expecting me (or any hair designer) to them look perfect in 1-1/2 hours. You spent months shopping for the: dress, flowers, venue, registry, cake, food and guest list, and now you are going to let a complete stranger do your hair?! I just don’t get that. What I do for my brides is make them envision that moment when they start down the aisle, see their future husband admiring his bride and decide what that needs to look like. Once I get them there, I know the rest will fall into place.

My Prom girls are the most challenging. They usually have a favorite celebrity or “style de jure” in mind, and while that’s great, most of them aren’t 100% comfortable with the styles they chose. The trick to making them feel as good as you know they look is in finding their individual comfort zone. By this I mean that every woman, of any age, has a “thing” associated with their hair/face that makes them feel complete; could be bangs, feeling hair on their neck, or just hair around her face. Whatever it is, when you find it, her whole attitude will shift from “this isn’t me” to “I’m ready for anything”! I also make a point of reminding these young ladies that once they are in their dress, make and jewelry on, the hair will make sense. No one feels “together” when they are wearing a button/zip front shirt, running shorts and sneakers while their hair is teased, pinned, curled and sprayed within an inch of it’s life. And I have the photos from Salon and Event to prove it.

Life is short, celebrate it by going and getting your hair done.

About lyndadoesmyhair

Master Hair Designer, Wife, Gardener, Cyclist, and so much more...
This entry was posted in Hair, Style, Healthy Hair Care, Healthy Hair Color and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment